silkywhisky

GLENFIDDICH Fire & Cane

0.60× hidden gem NAS rating 4.5/5 · n=39
cheapest
€40.90
topdrinks
intrinsic
€74.11
N
3

Is it worth the price?

GLENFIDDICH Fire & Cane is a Speyside single malt Scotch from the Glenfiddich distillery, released without an age statement. Tasters score it 4.5 out of 5 across 39 reviews. It is tracked at 3 retailers, ranging from €40.90 to €59.00, while the valuation model estimates a fair price of around €74.11. That is 0.60× the model estimate — well below what its age, strength and house predict, and one of the clearer value picks in the data. The estimate is fitted on age, bottling strength and the distillery's other prices; community ratings add no measurable signal to it, so this is not a quality judgement. Typical error is around ±65%, so read the verdict as indicative and trust it most at the extremes. It is one of 10 Glenfiddich bottlings priced here; the others are compared below.

Retailers tracked

Retailer Price
topdrinks €40.90
thewhiskyshop €44.16
whisky.fr €59.00

How we got this number

The valuation model predicts a price from this bottling's inputs. The multiple is the actual market price divided by that prediction.

Inputs
Rating
4.46 / 5
Age
No age statement
Region
Speyside
Distillery tier
Mid Label only — set from the distillery’s median price, not used by the model.
Result
Predicted price
€74.11
Actual price (median)
€44.16
Multiple
0.60×
Verdict band
hidden gem (≤ 0.80×)

See the regression's coefficients →

Methodology estimate

The deterministic model from methodology.md: production cost per litre × bottle size, plus maturation cost per year, plus a cask premium, times an ABV factor — then multiplied by a quality grade summed across six 0–3 axes.

Cost floor
Production (€0.10/cl × 70 cl)
€7.00
Maturation (NAS→5 × €1.20/year)
€6.92
Cask premium (undeclared)
+€0.00
× ABV factor
×1.08
Cost floor
€14.96

NAS treated as 5 years for maturation cost (paper convention).

Quality grade (six 0–3 axes)
  • Process distinctness
    own coopers; large-scale standard production
    1 / 3
  • Cask provenance
    cask type not declared on bottle
    0 / 3
  • Bottling integrity
    43.0% ABV; chill-filtration not disclosed; E150a caramel colouring not disclosed
    1 / 3
  • Ownership
    William Grant & Sons (family corporate) — production-led corporate
    1 / 3
  • Heritage
    founded 1886 (140 years of operation)
    2 / 3
  • Reputation
    4.4615/5 across 39 reviews
    2 / 3
Quality score
7 / 18
Quality multiplier
×1.58
Intrinsic and multiple
Intrinsic value
€23.69
Actual price (median)
€44.16
Multiple
1.86×
Verdict band
mild premium

The two models disagree sharply here. The deal-score regression learns from peer prices that age and brand command €74.11 (0.60× the listed price), while the cost-and-quality methodology floors the bottle at €23.69 (1.86×). The gap is the brand premium the market pays beyond what materials, maturation and bottling integrity alone can justify.

Maturation context

Speyside · rolling 12 months: 799 mm at Aberlour (6 km). Scotland N rolling 12-month rainfall2,298 mm, +33.30% vs 1995-2024 median.

Other bottlings from Glenfiddich