silkywhisky

OBAN Little Bay

1.28× mild premium NAS rating 4.6/5 · n=12
cheapest
€63.95
topdrinks
intrinsic
€65.11
N
4

Is it worth the price?

OBAN Little Bay is a Highland single malt Scotch from the Oban distillery, released without an age statement. Tasters score it 4.6 out of 5 across 12 reviews. It is tracked at 4 retailers, ranging from €63.95 to €88.00, while the valuation model estimates a fair price of around €65.11. That is 1.28× the model estimate — a mild premium over what its age, strength and house predict. The estimate is fitted on age, bottling strength and the distillery's other prices; community ratings add no measurable signal to it, so this is not a quality judgement. Typical error is around ±65%, so read the verdict as indicative and trust it most at the extremes. It is one of 4 Oban bottlings priced here; the others are compared below.

Retailers tracked

Retailer Price
topdrinks €63.95
thewhiskyshop €79.03
whisky.fr €88.00
whiskylodge €88.00

How we got this number

The valuation model predicts a price from this bottling's inputs. The multiple is the actual market price divided by that prediction.

Inputs
Rating
4.58 / 5
Age
No age statement
Region
Highland
Distillery tier
Mid Label only — set from the distillery’s median price, not used by the model.
Result
Predicted price
€65.11
Actual price (median)
€83.52
Multiple
1.28×
Verdict band
mild premium (1.20× < … ≤ 2.00×)

See the regression's coefficients →

Methodology estimate

The deterministic model from methodology.md: production cost per litre × bottle size, plus maturation cost per year, plus a cask premium, times an ABV factor — then multiplied by a quality grade summed across six 0–3 axes.

Cost floor
Production (€0.25/cl × 70 cl)
€17.50
Maturation (NAS→5 × €1.20/year)
€6.92
Cask premium (undeclared)
+€0.00
× ABV factor
×1.08
Cost floor
€26.25

NAS treated as 5 years for maturation cost (paper convention).

Quality grade (six 0–3 axes)
  • Process distinctness
    no declared distinctive practices
    2 / 3
  • Cask provenance
    cask type not declared on bottle
    0 / 3
  • Bottling integrity
    43.0% ABV; chill-filtration not disclosed; E150a caramel colouring not disclosed
    1 / 3
  • Ownership
    Diageo (prestige range) — independent or smaller group
    2 / 3
  • Heritage
    founded 1794 (232 years of operation)
    3 / 3
  • Reputation
    4.5833/5 across 12 reviews
    3 / 3
Quality score
11 / 18
Quality multiplier
×1.92
Intrinsic and multiple
Intrinsic value
€50.32
Actual price (median)
€83.52
Multiple
1.66×
Verdict band
mild premium

Maturation context

Highland · rolling 12 months: 1,660 mm at Dunstaffnage (4 km). Scotland W rolling 12-month rainfall2,451 mm, +33.70% vs 1995-2024 median.

Other bottlings from Oban